

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 8 August 2022

Contact: Joan Ilacqua, Executive Director 508.395.0933 | joan.ilacqua@historyproject.org

THE 2022

A'W A R D S

The History Project to celebrate K.J. Rawson, Founder of the Digital Transgender Archive

The History Project is pleased to announce **K.J. Rawson as our 2022 Lavender Rhino Award honoree.** Named after one of the early symbols of the Gay Liberation movement, the Lavender Rhino Award is presented to an activist or organization whose current efforts are making history for the LGBTQ+ community.

K.J. Rawson is the Director and Founder of the <u>Digital Transgender Archive</u> (DTA). The DTA, launched in 2016, virtually merges disparate transgender history archives collections, digital materials, and independent projects and makes these rich primary source materials available to researchers and LGBTQ+ community members worldwide. **We recognize and celebrate K.J.'s tireless efforts to share transgender history and collections.**

K.J. also serves as Chair of the editorial board of <u>Homosaurus</u>, an internationalLGBTQ+ linked data vocabulary. He is an Associate Professor of English and Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies at Northeastern University, and Co-Director of NULab for Texts, Maps, and Networks.

The 2022 HistoryMaker Awards will also honor lobbyist and advocate **Arline Isaacson with the 2022 HistoryMaker Award.** Arline Isaacson is a familiar figure on Beacon Hill. As Co-Chair of the Massachusetts GLBTQ Political Caucus (formerly the Massachusetts Gay and Lesbian Political Caucus), she has lobbied every major LGBTQ+ issue in Massachusetts.

Arline advocated for the groundbreaking 1989 gay and lesbian civil rights bill and domestic-partnership benefits for Massachusetts public employees. She also led the legislative battle for marriage equality, making Massachusetts the first state in the nation to defeat a marriage equality ban.

The History Project will celebrate the 2022 honorees with an early evening reception at the St. Botolph Club, featuring cocktails and hors d'oeuvres, on September 8, 2022. <u>To RSVP or join the Host Committee</u>, visit historyproject.org.



About the HistoryMaker Award

The History Project has presented the HistoryMaker Award since 2009 to those whose lifetime achievements have had a significant and positive effect on Boston and Massachusetts' LGBTQ+ communities. Past recipients of the award include Congressman Barney Frank, State Representative Byron Rushing, GLAD's Civil Rights Project Director Mary Bonauto, BAGLY executive director Grace Sterling Stowell, Abe Rybeck from the Theater Offensive, journalist Susan Ryan-Vollmar, Larry Kessler of AIDS Action Committee, activist and community organizer Orlando Del Valle, Mayor Denise Simmons, Dr. Thea James, Dr. Ken Mayer, trans activist Nancy Nangeroni, and GLAD founder John Ward.

About the Lavender Rhino Award

Named after one of the early symbols of the Gay Liberation movement, the Lavender Rhino Award is presented to emerging activists or organizations whose impact on the local LGBTQ community deserves recognition. Previous Lavender Rhino honorees have included Carmel Tre'Andre Valentine, the LGBT Elders of Color, activist and organizer Corey Yarbrough, musician and composer Omar Thomas, attorney Allison Wright, Chastity Bowick and the Massachusetts Transgender Emergency Fund, and prison abolition advocate Michael Cox.

About The History Project

The History Project is Boston's LGBTQ+ community archives. A volunteer-driven organization founded in 1980, The History Project documents, preserves, and shares the history of New England's LGBTQ communities and with LGBTQ+ individuals, organizations, allies, and the public. Learn more about our work at www.historyproject.org.