

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 21 July 2022

Contact: Joan Ilacqua, Executive Director 508.395.0933 | joan.ilacqua@historyproject.org

**THE 2022** A W A R D S

The History Project to celebrate Arline Isaacson, lobbyist, political consultant, and Co-Chair of the Massachusetts GLBTQ Political Caucus

The History Project, Boston's LGBTQ archives, is pleased to announce **Arline Isaacson as our 2022 HistoryMaker Awards honoree.** Since 2009, the HistoryMaker Awards recognize community members and organizations who make history every day.

Arline Isaacson is a familiar figure on Beacon Hill. As Co-Chair of the Massachusetts GLBTQ Political Caucus (formerly the Massachusetts Gay and Lesbian Political Caucus), she has lobbied every major LGBTQ+ issue in Massachusetts. She advocated for the groundbreaking 1989 gay and lesbian civil rights bill and domestic-partnership benefits for Massachusetts public employees. Her fights have included LGBTQ+ parental rights, anti-bullying bills, hate crimes bills, transgender rights, HIV/AIDS legislation, and banning conversion therapy for minors. Arline also led the legislative battle for marriage equality, making Massachusetts the first state in the nation to defeat a marriage equality ban.

"Arline's work to support equal rights for all is inspiring. We look to the past to inform our future, and we must learn from LGBTQ+ leaders like Arline how to continue the fight," says Executive Director Joan Ilacqua. "Our community has fought against attacks on protections and rights for LGBTQ+ people, and we've won. We'll continue to fight to protect the families, health, wellbeing, and bodily autonomy of all people."

The event will also honor **the Lavender Rhino Award.** Named after one of the early symbols of the Gay Liberation movement, the Lavender Rhino Award is presented to activists or organizations whose current impact on the local LGBTQ+ community deserves recognition. The Lavender Rhino honoree will be announced in August.

The History Project will celebrate the 2022 honorees with an early evening reception at the St. Botolph Club, featuring cocktails and hors d'oeuvres, on September 8, 2022. <u>Tickets, Host</u> <u>Committee, and Sponsorship opportunities are available at historyproject.org</u>.

## About the HistoryMaker Award

The History Project has presented the HistoryMaker Award since 2009 to those whose lifetime achievements have had a significant and positive effect on Boston and Massachusetts' LGBTQ+ communities. Past recipients of the award include Congressman Barney Frank, State Representative Byron Rushing, GLAD's Civil Rights Project Director Mary Bonauto, BAGLY executive director Grace Sterling Stowell, Abe Rybeck from the Theater Offensive, journalist Susan Ryan-Vollmar, Larry Kessler of AIDS Action Committee, activist and community organizer Orlando Del Valle, Mayor Denise Simmons, Dr. Thea James, Dr. Ken Mayer, trans activist Nancy Nangeroni, and GLAD founder John Ward.

## About the Lavender Rhino Award

Named after one of the early symbols of the Gay Liberation movement, the Lavender Rhino Award is presented to emerging activists or organizations whose impact on the local LGBTQ community deserves recognition. Previous Lavender Rhino honorees have included Carmel Tre'Andre Valentine, the LGBT Elders of Color, activist and organizer Corey Yarbrough, musician and composer Omar Thomas, attorney Allison Wright, Chastity Bowick and the Massachusetts Transgender Emergency Fund, and prison abolition advocate Michael Cox.

## **About The History Project**

The History Project is Boston's LGBTQ+ community archives. A volunteer-driven organization founded in 1980, The History Project documents, preserves, and shares the history of New England's LGBTQ communities and with LGBTQ+ individuals, organizations, allies, and the public. Learn more about our work at www.historyproject.org.